Skip to content

Statues

April 29, 2008

So I love taking pictures of statues of people. The truthful reason is that sometimes I find it awkward to take pictures of people. I don’t like to force people into positions because I don’t really know what I want them to do until they are in it. Its like if I enter onto a park, I don’t know what picture I want to take until I see something that inspires. In response to this I have become attached to taking pictures of statues, often focusing and zooming up on a specific aspect that drew me to this statue.

These two come from the backyard of my aunt and uncles house. Frankly I don’t think they are as strong apart as they are together, so I mounted them together when I first presented them to the public (the public being my senior year photo teacher)

 The one on the left demonstrates my use of zoom to focus the eye on a specific part of the statue. I really wanted to focus on the interaction of the hands and the tipping of the jar. The other one demonstrates how to manipulate the view of camera to turn the picture more from documenting a statue to creating it your own piece of art. It is angled above and to the left of the statue, almost like it is listening to what the camera is “saying.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

