Skip to content

Packaging

November 14, 2008

So over the past probably year I have become really interested in packaging. (The packing of the Vitamin bottle…probably one of my fav.) My interest in packaging has risen out of my increased interest in advertisement. One of the other things I am really interested in packaging is the packaging of beer. For two reasons: 1) I am a college student, I have seen so many different types of beer cans for bad beer that make it seem that its worth it, or the name has made you want to drink it, and in the end you can’t tell the difference. 2) When I was little, every year with my dad we would do this “99-bottles of beer on the wall” puzzle. So I would spend hours of looking at the different designing of mostly really good (and I think a ton of older) beers.

Because of this new interest in packaging I have begun collecting bottle caps and beer bottles. This is a photo of the three (pathetic collection I know) beer bottles I have.

100_0162

 

I can annalyze the design aspects of each one, and what they look like next to each other. But I feel like people would get bored, so enjoy the picture and let me know if you want me analyze the packaging.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2008 3:39 am

    So, can I gather you are interested in advertising, perhaps a marketing major? Interesting thing about packaging; the label may look appealing, but it still tastes like water. Try a Guinness, the label is rather plain, but is the elixer of life.

  2. November 15, 2008 3:49 am

    Aha… packaging as in beer bottles and labels. Now that gives me an idea. Cheers Maggie!
    😉

  3. November 15, 2008 4:08 am

    Dust Lens: I really wish I would be a marketing major or a graphic design major but my school doesnt haven’t and I like my school to much to change. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Mike: I hope this is what will break your “not having anything to take a photos of at the pub” phase.

  4. November 15, 2008 4:10 am

    Dust Lens: I really wish I would be a marketing major or a graphic design major but my school doesnt haven’t and I like my school to much to change. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Mike: I hope this is what will break your “not having anything to take a photos of at the pub” phase.

  5. November 15, 2008 6:59 am

    Well Maggie, that was precisely my thinking 🙂
    And given your interest in such things there’s suddenly a worthwhile reason for having a bash at it. Though I’ll probably try to focus on the UK brands rather than the more widely available ones such as Bud and Becks.

  6. November 15, 2008 4:26 pm

    Can’t wait to see the outcome. It will be interesting to see the UK beer bottles.

  7. November 19, 2008 3:23 am

    I love this picture! Great choice of beer too. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Revitalised Bear sessions (or should that be beer sessions?) « Adventures of an Idiot - occasional ramblings of a photography freak
  2. I thought I’d play too. « it’s what you see
  3. Beer Bottle Project Part 2 « Maggies Camera’s

Leave a Reply

