Skip to content

The Red Apple

November 20, 2008

This photo I took in the fall when I went apple picking with my families.

100_0097

I like how it was a lone apple and because of fact that is was the only non-green item in the photo it stood out. But I wanted it to stand out even more. I took the picture and opened it twice on photo shop. On one of them I decreased the saturation of the picture so it was very very light. Almost as if I had colored it in my self with colored pencils. With the other one I cut out the apple and pasted it onto the one with the decreased saturation.

This was the result:

apple-on-a-tree-1

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily Richardson permalink
    November 20, 2008 12:51 am

    That is amazing, I love what you do with photo shop!!! I am taking a digital photography class this semester and I hope to start learning photo shop. I don’t have it on my computer, YET!

  2. November 20, 2008 7:31 am

    Well, I think you’ve definitely achieved your objective! It certainly stands out, and looks amazingly tempting as well. Really comes to life.

  3. November 20, 2008 5:41 pm

    That’s a neat way of doing it. I hadn’t thought about cutting the item and then pasting it.

    Could you do the same sort of thing with layers, but without the cutting/pasting part? I mean, start with the original photo, then duplicate the layer.

    Make adjustments to the entire layer (in regards to the desaturation of colour) and then using the eraser erase the top layer to expose the bright red apple in the original & untouched layer?

  4. November 20, 2008 9:42 pm

    I have never though about doing that. Sound interesting. I have tried using the eraser with my labtop and just doing certain cutting aspects of photoshop on my labtop is hard enough, and the eraser is just as hard. I’m gonna try that though when I get a chance to work on a desktop.

  5. Mom permalink
    November 21, 2008 12:23 am

    I love this!

  6. Mom permalink
    November 21, 2008 12:26 am

    you should try this technique on the photo of the pink hydrangea.

  7. November 21, 2008 2:51 am

    Yeah! What mom said.

  8. Betsy permalink
    November 21, 2008 8:22 pm

    ugly.

  9. Betsy permalink
    November 21, 2008 9:25 pm

    love you. maybe.

  10. November 21, 2008 11:50 pm

    You’re such a nice sister betsy!

Leave a Reply

