Skip to content

Our Not So Typical Thanksgiving

November 28, 2008

Yesterday was the American Thanksgiving (The day of giving thanks and celebrating harvest). For me it wasn’t our normal one. Previous years we would meet up with my dad’s cousins and my second cousins at the country club. We would sit around tables and eat food that had been cooked for us by the club’s cooks. My cousin would teaser me about still being 5. Then we would leave after around 4 and head back to our house where we would sit around, talk, and possibly go see a movie (something that developed when we used to be almost pushed out of the house to go see a movie when barely any of them were adults).

This year we celebrated with just my family and a family friend of ours. This also meant we were cooking for Thanksgiving this year. In years past my mom still always wanted to make a Thanksgiving meal so we would make a smaller version the night before. And my mom makes the BEST stuffing. During the day when we were cooking I took photos using my dads D 80 of the food while it we being prepared (my dad took it away before everything was officially finished).

The following three pictures illustrate how my mom’s AMAZING stuffing is made:

dsc_0185

Cut stale and hard bread into cubs

dsc_01871

Saute the onions and celery in a pan

dsc_0195

Mix it all together!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. mrgrosky permalink
    November 29, 2008 11:33 pm

    Hey, great close-up of that stuffing. It’s not everyone who can make bread cubes look interesting. I like your depth of field. Mitch

  2. tam permalink
    November 30, 2008 3:53 am

    Your mom’s stuffing looks very good. The photos are great!

  3. November 30, 2008 6:58 am

    Hope you enjoyed you celebration. From the looks of it I bet that stuffing was real tasty (I’m more used to the stuff that comes straight out of a packet!).

    So how’d you get on with the D80 and what did you think of it?

  4. November 30, 2008 7:16 am

    I love the D 80. Its a really nice camera. But its my dad so I only can use it when he says so. He didn’t want it out when people were arriving so he put it away. I really noticed the effect of the depth of field and the apeture (sp?) setting on the photos right away. Being able to do that was nice instead of taking the photo with my N75, not recording the depth of field and then haveing to develop the film….a lot more time.

    I am pushing for a possible D40 or D60 for christmas, but am trying to not get my hopes up.

  5. November 30, 2008 4:52 pm

    Well, I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you. I really like what I’ve seen of the Nikons, and the way they seem to process pics.
    I rather wish I’d got a Nikon now instead of the Canon… but that’s the wisdom of hindsight for you.

  6. December 1, 2008 10:50 pm

    My old film camera (which is only about 6 years old) is a Nikon N65! How ’bout that!

    I have frequently read that modern Nikon dSLRs images tend to look more film-like than do similar model Canons. But I think a lot of that has to do with the default settings that come with both brands cameras. I think if I fiddled with my settings long enough I could create images that would look very much like the Nikons, straight out of the box. And vice versa.

  7. November 27, 2009 5:15 pm

    Wow , it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that will probably involve a moto trip and seeing something new in Collinsville I haven’t seen yet.
    You write something new at Thanksgiving?

    • November 27, 2009 5:51 pm

      Not this year because I’m in Italy and didn’t really celebrate it formally. Next year I will though.

Leave a Reply

