Skip to content

The Best Christmas Present EVER!

December 26, 2008

So this Christmas my parents had completely convinced I was going to get a Digital SLR. I kept pleading with them to get it for me, but they convinced me I wasn’t getting one. But then yesterday morning my mom handed my my first gift, a large box that was very lite. All that was in it was a piece of paper that read “Look under the couch.” So I did just that. And there is was sitting in a nice box, my brand new Nikon D 40! I couldn’t believe it and I was SOOOOOO happy. It will definitely be one of my favorite presents of all time.

108_0985

Of course with a new camera I could barely put it down. I ended up taking about 110 pictures yesterday. (A record for not being at a tourist place or going hiking or taking pictures for year book.) So this is one of the pictures I took with my camera while I was getting the hang of you.

dsc_01061

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2008 10:40 pm

    Hey hey! Very exciting news! Congratulations and everything. Very kind and good of your parents.

    Now all we, your readers, must do is convince you to open a Flickr account! (or SmugMug – we aren’t too picky).

  2. December 27, 2008 9:35 pm

    Congrats. You are going to have so much fun. (And nice Christmasy photo, too!)

  3. December 28, 2008 9:13 am

    Congrats Maggie. That is fantastic. And yes, you should now open a Flickr account? (we are picky).

  4. December 29, 2008 12:29 am

    Leave it to Wouter to be difficult….

    😉

  5. usebagon permalink
    December 29, 2008 7:32 am

    I suggest reading the manual, it helps and practice using manual mode and adjusting both the aperture and shutter speeds. Trust me, completely worth it

  6. December 30, 2008 6:24 pm

    Congrats, Maggie!!!

    How a lucky you’re 🙂

  7. tam permalink
    December 31, 2008 1:57 am

    I agree with Wouter, go with Flickr!!!! Congrats on your new camera. Aren’t new cameras wonderful? We have two new cameras in our house as well. AND if I play my cards right, I’ll have another new camera soon….saving up. 😉

    PS, when you open the flickr account, please do share your flickr addy for the flickraddicts (that’s me).

  8. December 31, 2008 2:11 am

    I will look into the flickr account. I am not promising anything yet everybody so don’t get your hopes up but I will look into it.

  9. January 7, 2009 8:27 pm

    Now all the snow’s finished 😉 I’m revisiting my fave blogs, hence the rather late comment to this post.

    What an absolutely super present. You must be over the moon. I’m sure you’ll have loads of fun with it and I don’t doubt all sorts of new ideas will occur to you.

    Gotta add my voice to the throng as well… please do open a Flickr account… its great fun (though, I have to say, a bit addictive). And if… no, strike that… when you do be sure to let me know your address there.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

