Skip to content

My D40 Takes on Florence

September 7, 2009

Two days ago was my fifth day in Florence, but my first day without some orientation meeting to go to. Of course I headed out to the Uffizi with my roommate and my D40 tucked safely in my purse. But in the end I only took three pictures of a deserted alley with it (I did however take some stealth photos from inside the Uffizi my little camera and I will post those later). I was disappointed with my lack of use of my D40. I love the camera and I know it wants to be used here.

But yesterday, when my host mother and her son took us to the Piazza Michelangelo, it was pulled in to excessive practice. I took colorful pictures of amazing views of Florence and black and white photographs of churches and marble.

Although the view was amazing, and those pictures clearly show the city I will be studying in for the nest 3+ months, I like the black and white ones a lot better. The first is a section of the façade of a church near Piazza Michelangelo. The second is the back of a grave marker at a cemetery at the same church; supposedly there are a lot of famous people buried there. The last picture is of staircase and marble banister leading down ward from that church to Piazza Michelangelo. My D40 is enjoying all the sites that Florence has to offer.

DSC_0043

 

DSC_0047

 

DSC_0052

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    September 9, 2009 1:16 pm

    I love the shot of the grave marker! Everything looks beautiful!

  2. September 25, 2009 8:16 pm

    I’m loving this. Something about italy has helped you!!

  3. September 29, 2009 1:32 pm

    I was feeling the same thing.

Leave a Reply

