Skip to content

This is for real!

September 29, 2009

The one country in Europe that I have always wanted to go to (think mainly because of the food) was to visit Italy. I’ve been it England, Amsterdam, Paris, and Spain (twice) but not Italy. Because Italy had always been my frist choice of place to go in Europe, it was my obvious choice for place to study for a semester abroad. So this desire to go to Italy as made me say this to myself once again “I’m in Italy…WOW!” I truly can’t believe I’m here, let alone studying here. Someone needs to pinch me so I know this is real.

While in Italy I am going to take as much advantage as I can of the ability to travel during out three day weekends. My first extended trip (i.e. not a day trip) was with my friend Jenny to the Amalfi Coast where we spent time in Capri, Sorrento, Posotano (sp?), and Pompei. The cities were all pretty but Pompei was unbelievable solely because of what it is. I had studied the discovery of Pompei in my art history classes looking at how it influenced art during the Neoclassical, Rococo and Romanticism Periods, and it was therefore one of the places I had to go visit. So as I walked through the ruins of Pompei, I had to keep telling myself what I have been telling myself since I have been here “I can’t believe I’m here” and “this is for real.” The following pictures are come Pompei.

108_2736

 

108_2786

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

