Skip to content

Not such Disney Movie-esq

November 11, 2009

I was flipping through the 200+ pictures of my second trip to Paris looking for my pictures I took with my D 40 at Pere Lachaise when I found this picture of the Notre Dame Cathedral. This is one of my favorite pictures I took on this trip because of the way the lighting turned out. The lighting does not look artificial or the picture has not become a lighter color due to the camera’s suggestion of aperture and shutter speed. The pictures feels like you are actually standing at near the entrance of the central nave looking down. There is also this eerie feel because it is still dark and the air looks still, very unlike the depiction of the Cathedral in the Disney movie “The Hunchback of Notre Dame.”  (I love my Disney movies so I had to mention it.)

DSC_0033

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 2:28 pm

    I know the problem (lack of light) to take photos inside churches after having photographed more than 350 churches in my country. I am interested about Your photos taken at Pere Lachaise cemetery, which is my favorite in Paris. Maybe some day You’ll show them.

  2. November 11, 2009 3:42 pm

    That will be my next post. I amolst posted two different posts today so I can do one about it.

  3. November 12, 2009 2:37 am

    That’s a beautiful photo.

    I’ve not photographed inside any churches yet but, coincidentally, I’m booked to be doing exactly that next week. Nothing so grand as the Notre Dame cathedral though
    😦

  4. November 12, 2009 7:45 am

    It doesn’t have to be grand to be beautiful. One of my favorite churches in Florence as a very simple facade and barely anyone knows it exists.

Leave a Reply

