Skip to content

Silence all Around

November 12, 2009

There are two things that seem to always help me think: 1) music and 2) being a place with fresh air and little noise. One of the places that I seem to always find these qualities are in cemeteries. When I’m in a cemetary I always find myself thinking about how pretty this grave marker looks or how much time and effort must have gone into craving the marble. I walk through them like a museum and then I take out my cameras and start shooting.

While in Paris, my friend, Christine, and I decided we wanted to go to Pere Lachaise to visits some different people’s graves (David, Chopin, Oscar Wilde, and of course Jim Morrison). Like usually my D 40 came out and I took tons of pictures approaching different grave markers from many different angles. Below I am including some of the pictures I took . (I’ve done a pervious post with a similar subject matter when I first began blogging.)

DSC_0058

 

DSC_0062

 

DSC_0069

7 Comments leave one →
  1. lovebug35 permalink
    November 12, 2009 2:22 pm

    awesome pics.

  2. November 12, 2009 3:07 pm

    Really nice photos from cemetery which is my favorite place to visit when in Paris.

    My own saying is: “If You leave Paris without visiting Pere Lachaise, You do not know Paris”. Lol.

  3. November 12, 2009 11:36 pm

    Cemeteries. Yeah. Great places. So quiet and peaceful… and lots of interesting stuff to shoot.

    Only problem I have with cemeteries is that occasionally I wonder if its disrespectful to take pics of certain things. So consequently I try to avoid snapping more recent headstones and stuff. And if I did I probably wouldn’t upload them anywhere public just in case one of the deceased’s relatives stumbled across the pic and became upset.
    That’s just one of my little quirks though.

    And music? Yep. Always works for me 🙂

  4. November 19, 2009 12:16 am

    I’m on board with the cemetery as well. Hell, my wife and I were married in one!

  5. March 30, 2010 2:05 pm

    I wish I’d taken such good photos in Pere Lachaise! I had to just write my best words instead. Merci et bon voyage! Richard

    http://richardtulloch.wordpress.com/2010/01/22/death-in-paris-celebrity-grave-spotting/

Trackbacks

  1. Lake View Cemetery Crosses « Maggie's Camera
  2. Lake View Cemetery: Figures « Maggie's Camera

Leave a Reply

