Skip to content

St. Peter’s Columns!

November 23, 2009

This past weekend finally got to go to Roma. I had been once, but that was a layover at the beginning of the semester so it doesn’t really count. I got to see all the highlights: Vatican City, Coliseum, Trevi Fountain, the Roman Forum, Pantheon, and the Fountain of Four Rivers. My camera was out the entire time and I snapped away. To begin my Rome posts, I thought I would post two pictures of St. Peter’s Basilica.

I like these two pictures together because it illustrates the unity of design between the interior and façade of St. Peter’s Basilica. The TA that was taking us around told us the interior is huge, but the way the proportions were created doesn’t make it seem that way, and those “illusions” are obvious in the columns in these pictures.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 1:25 am

    Those are huge columns. In the second photo, are those the surveillance cameras or spot lights that I’m seeing.

  2. November 24, 2009 7:32 am

    Magnificent building, and what beautiful architecture. That top one’s a lovely shot. I’m really looking foward to seeing more Rome pics.
    🙂

  3. November 24, 2009 10:15 am

    I think those are surveillance cameras. I didn’t notice them until you said anything. Haha.

  4. November 24, 2009 1:35 pm

    Maggie,
    Those are great shots ! I was lucky enough to visit all the same sites in the spring of 2008. And, just so you know … the two columns in the top picture are called ‘engaged columns’ .. they are not needed structurally and are just decorative … which they certainly are !!
    Thanks for the reminder with the pics !!
    Ed

  5. November 25, 2009 5:54 am

    I have always liked photos where also details can be seen also, so these photos are just what I want to see: details from something bigger. Thank You.

  6. November 26, 2009 5:11 pm

    Fantastic detail..:-))

  7. November 29, 2009 11:42 pm

    The intricate carvings one sees on older buildings such as this remind me of how much we seem to have lost in the age of glass and steel.

    Not that glass and steel can’t be beautiful when well done, but that seems to be an exception to the rule.

Trackbacks

  1. Large Proportions « Maggie's Camera
  2. Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward | Maggie's Camera

Leave a Reply

