Skip to content

Night Shots

December 5, 2009

Europe does a really nice job lighting their monuments. I’ve noticed in Florence I always end up near these monuments late at night and they’re always so well lit. It’s made me really focus on improving the steadiness of my hands when taking shots. (Also, using things around me as a temporary tri-pod.) Here are some of my night shots (some with the D 40 and some with my point and shot.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2009 4:47 pm

    You and usebagon at the same time. Must be something in the air over there!

  2. December 5, 2009 11:14 pm

    Very nice captured, Maggie. Let´s see a lot more of your photos from there.

  3. December 6, 2009 7:28 am

    The first image looks amazing.

  4. December 7, 2009 12:27 am

    Love that top one. Really nice feel to it.

    I keep messing around with night photography minus tripod… results are incredibly erratic though 😦

  5. December 8, 2009 1:14 am

    wow, those shots are great, and night shots are definately more difficult!

  6. December 8, 2009 10:20 pm

    I’m incredibly jealous of you getting to spend a whole semester in Europe. I received my BFA Honours in 2001. But, I majored in Multi Media, and Drawing. I did get to go to Italy for 10 days. It counted as one course weee! I have a wonderful illustrated essay that is mine to keep forever. My cover is a photo of Giotto’s Bell Tower in Florence. I sooo love Florence, Rome as well, but Florence has my heart big time. Italian food is the best food in the world!

    Love your shots. OH… I ignored the signs that say no photo too! They didn’t catch me in the Cysteine Chapel, I put the camera on my lap and clicked away. I also got a great shot of Masaccio’s – The Expulsion from the Garden of Eden, but the guard caught me. I’m lucky that all he did was holler like you said.

    Beautiful shot of the Trevi fountain. Did you throw in your coins? Gahh now that song “Three Coins in the Fountain” is running through my head.

    Enjoy your time there. You will be home soon enough, then you will be longing to return like I am.

Leave a Reply

