Skip to content

Firenze Hot Spots!

December 18, 2009

I made it back to Cleveland safely after a very crazy time of traveling and almost missing all but my first flights, and being walked through the airport by two Alitalia workers (let me know if you want the long story). During one of my last few days in Florence I walked through the city and took pictures of the famous buildings because I realized I had not taken good ones because I kept just telling myself “I have time”. And then I didn’t have time, so the pictures needed to be taken. The first is of il Duomo with the Baptistery in the corner, the second is of Palazzo Vecchio, and the last is the Ponte Vecchio at set.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2009 2:26 am

    Gorgeous pics!

  2. December 19, 2009 4:00 am

    Sounds like a story Maggie! Least you made it to the Duomo, when I was there I remember going into this church thinking it was the Duomo only to come out and walk 100m down the street and finding a line about 500m long and knew straight away I had been had. Turns out I couldn’t stand the long wait to go in, ah next time! Hope its not too bad being home?

    • December 19, 2009 5:08 am

      Are you thinking about San Lorenzo? I only went in to climb it, and to get in for free during mass on Sunday.

  3. December 19, 2009 5:54 am

    Maggie, glad that you made it home in time for the holiday, I would love to hear the long version of your story. 🙂

    I like the last photo, is that taken during the morning sunrise, or evening sunset?

  4. December 19, 2009 5:59 am

    My Long Day:
    I got in a taxi around 4:30 am for my 7:10 am flight from Florence to Rome. We sat on the plane in the airport while they had to deice it because the one day the weather decided to be bad it choose that day. They took forever to de-ice the plane. We finally took off around 9:40 and landed in Rome at 10:10. My Rome flight to JFK was suppose to leave at 10:10. Luckily though because there were about 40+ of us on the Florence flight that needed to be on the Rome flight (all of which were from my program) they delayed the Rome flight and we left Rome 2 1/2 hours late, but made up an hour in the air. I caught my third flight home and spent a lovely 22 hours traveling.

Leave a Reply

