Skip to content

Still Reflecting on this Fall

January 21, 2010

I’ve barely been back in the states a month and only at school a week. Although I have been back in the states for a period of time, I’ve had to do another round of readjusting by readjusting to school life such as living in a dorm, eating in a dinning hall, and having everything contained in a small campus. There are definitely things I have loved about being back at school, mainly spending a large amount of time with my friends who I missed dearly. But there are definitely things I still miss about Florence and being in Europe.

The thing I miss the most is taking pictures. Florence was extremely interesting because I was constantly in the middle of the city and then I would travel to other places. I would snap away excitedly, knowing because of the 1,000’s of pictures I took, I would be able to remember these places forever. But I really miss always having something to take a picture of because how many times can you take a picture of the same building covered in snow… I miss my inspiration if picture taking that seemed to be in full swing abroad. Hopefully, once I am readjusted that inspiration will return, it might require to leave campus, but I think it will come back soon.

And, man, am I glad I took a million pictures. Since moving into my room, I have placed about 60 pictures on my wall, most of which are from my fall abroad. I was looking at those pictures yesterday as I tried to do my art history reading and was thinking how I couldn’t believe  I had gone to places I had always dreamnt about going to. It almost feels like a dream that I was there, but it’s a good thing I have the pictures to prove I went and remind myself I did it and that it’s no longer a dream that I went.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 8:45 pm

    I have such photos myself. I’ve a photo by the coral reefs at Okinawa and at a village in Korea. It is hard to believe how much thought a simple photo can retrieve. Even though it has been over 30 years since I was there, the photos of which there are only two, call up zillions of memories of the moment and time there.

    You will only be at this college for a short time of your life. Take many photos for just one will call back so many memories, can you imagine what many will do? Take photos of dormitory life, eating at the cafeteria, going back and forth to classes, backpacks and bikes, hairstyles and clothing of the students, an expression on the professor’s face, students waiting to take their finals. The list could go on and on. So many photos waiting to be taken at the little college you are at.

  2. January 29, 2010 2:20 am

    Same here, sounds like being in collage was the same as being in the Army, living in a dorm, eating in a chow hall and being on a small army post..I kinda miss it..:)

  3. January 29, 2010 11:05 pm

    Since I’ve only been here since Monday, I think I’m still just taking in everything without the clicks of a camera yet. But you’re right, I do think I need to start capturing everything, because the pictures will captivate what memories leave out. And they will also be beautiful posters on my bedroom wall at home… good luck with your next semester at school!

Leave a Reply

