Skip to content

Illegal Art

February 5, 2010

The idea for this post came from a fellow when she introduced a new blog project on graffiti art. The pictures below are from an underground walking tunnel in Florence that I had been obsessed about visiting because I enjoy graffiti. Actually, I don’t just enjoy it, I have a slight obsession about it and really believe that it is art. Enjoy the pictures I took of this graffiti tunnel.

Pictures to give you an idea of how much graffiti decorated the tunnel’s walls.

The following are works of graffiti that I really enjoyed.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 2:11 am

    Fascinating! Some of those artists are really good! Now if all of that could be properly channelled. I live in the country, far from any large city, but I see graffiti on train cars as they go by, having been “tagged” probably in Seattle. Some of it is poor, but a few things are quite good. I’m sure they don’t do it under the best of conditions.

  2. February 6, 2010 5:08 am

    Wow, this is massive! And beautiful Loved it Maggie! I am guessing this work was probably done by a group of artists. Was it a part of a project…or do you think it just sprung up?

    Thank you, many times, for the mention. It is much appreciated, and I am humbled. I think we have a connection here!:)

  3. February 12, 2010 11:19 am

    Maggie, these pictures are great! Which train spot in Florence are they located in? I’ll go check it out myself!

  4. February 14, 2010 11:51 pm

    I had to ask my friend because I was never able to get around Florence when I was out of the central main part.
    Campo di marte, in piazza cure, right next to the gelateria cavini (really yummy!)

  5. February 19, 2010 6:55 am

    Well, here’e me trying to make the rounds of my fave blogs I’ve been a bit slack in visiting for a while and what’s this I find? You’ve changed your theme as well. I’ve just come from Tam’s blog and she’s changed hers too. What’s going on I ask myself. But yep… I like this one, muchly.

    And the other thing I find is all these wonderful pics. Yeah, when work’s of that calibre I don’t even think of it as graffiti… definitely street art. And what super examples. Magnificent!

Leave a Reply

