Skip to content

Lens Advice

October 7, 2011

I have finally decided that I will purchase an additional lens for my Nikon D40 SLR. My current lens only das a 50-25 range, i.e. not ideal for macro, so I want a lens that will provide me with the opportunity to take more macro oriented photographs. Upon beginning research for lens, I discovered that my camera is no longer made by Nikon and thus lenses are not made specifically for that type.

So I wanted to ask my readers if they know the answer to this question: what current Nikon model has lenses that would also work for my D40?

Also, any questions for what range I would want?

Thank you!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 3:08 pm

    There aren’t a lot of NIKON lenses that will work on the D40, but here they are from NIKON: http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Camera-Lenses/CloseUp-Macro/index.page. There are many other brand lenses that will probably work as well. You might try calling a camera supplier like B&H (at 1-800-606-6969) for example and asking them. They are pretty knowledgeable.

  2. October 7, 2011 3:35 pm

    Thank you! I have a photo developer place that I like to go to, except its no where near me, so I thought I would ask other their opinion until I got the chance to go out there.

  3. October 8, 2011 6:53 am

    Any of the new AF-S lenses will work on the D40. Nikon recently announced the 40mm AF-S Micro lens (Nikon calls their Macros, Micros) which will work. However, IF you can afford the 105mm AF-S VR micro either new or used you’ll be much happier.

    I reviewed it on my blog: http://stphoto.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/nikon-105mm-micro-user-report/

Trackbacks

  1. Fall Flowers « Maggie's Camera
  2. Sunday Stills: Vanishing Point « Maggie's Camera

Leave a Reply

