Skip to content

Work of Art is BACK!

October 13, 2011

Over the past few years I have tried my hardest not to get hooked into competition TV shows. For the past couple years I have really only followed Project Runway, and that hasn’t even been consistent. The one show that has gotten past my “wall” has been “Work of Art: The Next Great Artist.”

I began watching the show because I was intrigued by it. I didn’t actually agree with the idea that someone could give a time limit to creation of great art. However, I stuck with it because I enjoyed watching the creative process and thought it did a great job capturing how artists went through creative slumps (Abdi’s great slump in season 1). Plus, I absolutely loved the winner of the first season: Abdi.

I was excited when they announced a second season and watched it last night. (One of the judges recaps the episodes for New York Magazine.)

My first thoughts on the artists and this season were that the artists seem more diverse mainly in the mediums used (paper, toys, objects such as crayons, etc). I think this will create a much more interesting season.

The first challenge was a little more interesting than last season’s first challenge. I liked the idea of taking something already considered art (although garage sale art) and making it your own work. A lot of great artists across all art forms start their creative process that way, only with masterpieces instead of little knickknacks that the contestants had. Michell won and Ugo got eliminated (however I think Sucklord should have been sent home because his lacked creativity.)

And of course I had some initials thoughts on the artists. Sucklord seemed a bit to conceited and I dislike his name. I think Dusty’s art re-invents pointillism by using the objects as the points and not paint. For example, his self-portrait was made of crayons. Michelle’s ability with paper is AMAZING! Of course I am going to root for my fellow Clevelander, Sarah K. The last artist that caught my attention was Michael Tewz. He’s a street artist from Chicago, and I LOVE street art.

Check out the artists’ portfolios for your self!

I can’t wait to see what else they will have the artists do!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 1:56 pm

    Ooh, I didn’t know this was back on. 🙂 I liked the idea of this show and just seeing how they created works of art; the process of the creativity. Thanks so much for this post! 🙂

    • October 14, 2011 6:10 pm

      No problem! Make sure to catch the first episode. You got introduced to the artists through self-portraits (which I don’t remember them doing last season) giving a quick introduction into their style.

Leave a Reply

