Skip to content

Lake View Cemetery Crosses

January 15, 2012

There is something about cemeteries (especially old ones) that appeal to me as a perfect place for a photography expedition. The landscape is undisturbed and the plot markers are often spectacular. So today I found myself at Lake View Cemetery, the most famous cemetery in Cleveland, Ohio. I spent a lot of time there and took a lot of pictures, especially because I had not been back there with a camera in four years (when I took these pictures). The last time I went, I was still using film.

I spent a fair amount of time going around and taking a lot of pictures. This is the first batch I am posting from the trip (other than the ones I posted earlier today for Sunday Stills). These are various pictures of crosses throughout the cemetery. Crosses in cemeteries really grab my attention because there are so many different types with a lot of different textures. (And I love textures). Enjoy these pictures and make sure to return for the rest!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 9:50 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more about the fascinating environment of the yard. Amazing qualities in them.

  2. January 16, 2012 12:28 am

    The old cemeteries are fascinating to visit. In Arizona I visited many in the area of old ghost towns especially where there had been mining activities, where life was harsh… and short. The inscriptions were riveting.

  3. January 16, 2012 9:59 am

    A very good scenary and that makes our photographic imagination work. Great job well done.

Trackbacks

  1. One Color | Maggie's Camera

Leave a Reply

