Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge: How the Boston Marathon Changed in a Second

April 15, 2013

When I originally saw this weeks challenge I knew I wanted to post photos of the marathon and  how much my life changed between this year’s marathon and last year’s. However, in the aftermath of the explosions by Copley Square and the Marathon finish line I decided to go a different route.

I live about 5 minutes from the course between the 21 and 22 mile markers. This allowed me to go up with some friends, watch the elite runners and go back to my apartment for a bit while I waited about 3 more hours until my cousin got to the same point. The crowds were pumped up both times and were a lot more entertaining the second time. When runners were running by (mainly the people running to raise funds for various charities) it was obvious they had been joined by friends who were running with them at various miles.

While I was waiting to cheer for my cousin a college looking kid popped up beside me and began offering the runners chips. I captured that moment and thought his enthusiasm captured the excitement of the crowd cheering the thousands of runners along.

2013-04-15 14.33.00

And then about 30 minutes later, my group of friends and I were beginning a movie and my sister texted me asking if I knew what was going on. And suddenly the energetic excitement changed into shock and a somber atmosphere filled the room. We proceeded to watch the coverage non-stop for the next three hours. We watched the number of reported casualties slowly increase. We saw the same clips of the explosions multiple times. And we watched a wonderful man talk about how after he completed the marathon he picked up a women who had lost both her legs and carried her to the medic tent.

2013-04-15 17.51.33

I am still taking in all the news. Fortunately for me all my friends and family are safe. My cousin was unable to cross the finish line but was unharmed. News will continue to trickle in and I will continue to learn more about the incident. But I will always remember how my excitement disappeared into a shocked somber mood.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2013 8:55 pm

    It’s something of a tradition for me to go to the Red Sox game first and then walk over to the finish line once the Sox game was over. I decided against it this year as I thought our 3 year old son was still a bit too young for that kind of crowd.

    • April 15, 2013 9:03 pm

      Wow. I can imagine how happy you were you decided to change your plans this year.

      • April 15, 2013 9:06 pm

        Yeah happy, but also freaked out about the whole thing too. There’s some really awful photos on news sites. The ones of hurt kids are especially hard to look at.

  2. April 16, 2013 6:39 am

    A sad day for all of us.

  3. April 16, 2013 12:39 pm

    It’s nice to know that you and your family and friends are safe. What a sad day for all.

  4. April 16, 2013 3:37 pm

    We are all reeling from the effect of this one, even here on a remote hilltop above the River Towy in Wales, UK. So glad you are safe. We are praying for those who must be still so traumatised, as well as those who have died.

  5. April 16, 2013 11:29 pm

    It is a horrible news. Can’t imagine how another human being can do such an evil thing. My thoughts and prayers to the victims and their families.

Leave a Reply

