Skip to content

Maggie’s Camera: A 5 Year Retrospective

April 23, 2013

About 5 years ago, my sister was working on cooking blog and I thought it would be fun if I started a blog. I choose photography because it had developed into my own favorite activity and my opportunity to take photography classes and share my photographs were going to be slim in the future. And so when I began my last photography class, nature photography, my blog launched!

In celebration of the 5-year anniversary of my blog, I wanted to take you all through some of my favorite posts in various ways. Please click on the links to see the some of my favorite photos and experiences!

My Favorite Posts from Each Year:

  • Year 1: Texture
    • I love the various solid shapes in the photo and how the stone halves appear to be floating over the area below. The composition makes the depth of the photo is difficult to interpret.
  • Year 2: I couldn’t pick a favorite from this year because I was abroad and produced to many favorites. So here is a selection of some of my favorites:
    • Favorite Post about food: Portraits of Spices
      • I took A LOT of photos of food when I was abroad. Mainly because the food in Italy was the best I ever ate. (Sorry Mom!). The Italians really know how to cook. Not only do they know how to cook, but the markets display all these fresh ingredients that look equally delicious. This was my favorite because my eye was drawn to this collection of spices and I had a great time capturing them.
    • Favorite post highlighting a place outside Florence: Not Such Disney Movie-esq
      • I first traveled to Paris when I was 11 years old during a two-week vacation to Europe. Paris was towards the end of the trip and I was museumed out by the time we stopped at the Notre-Dame Cathedral and did not remember much of the location. However, I acknowledge my young age on my first trip and encouraged myself to return while I was abroad. I enjoyed my second visit to Notre-Dame much more. It was such a peaceful and beautiful place. This is my favorite photo of the cathedral because I think it captures the atmosphere of the interior. Even through the Cathedral is bustling with visitors, there is a stillness and sacred quality of the space.
    • Favorite Post highlighting Florence: Coming to a Close on Florence:
      • The Florence Duomo is the most recognizable image of the city and I was lucky to leave with a photo that captures its beauty. I have a hard time elaborating more on the photo because I am still captivated by the duomo’s beauty. I entered the photo into a photography show at my school, which my parents than framed as a gift to me. I am so fortunate to have this beautiful photo hanging on my wall to remind me of my wonderful experience in Florence.
  • Year 3: Sunday Stills: Blue
    • I am fond of this post because of the work I put into it. I love making collages from photos taken out of magazines, especially National Geographic, and translated this craft into a photoshop project. This was the result and I am extremely proud of it.
  • Year 4: Fall Walk
    • Since beginning college, last fall was the first time I had been in Cleveland and I tried to capture the city’s beauty and share it with you. I love the way these 5 shots work together to give you a vivid picture of what fall looks like as well as the beautiful quality of the lake near my parents’ house.
  • Year 5: Weekly Photo Challenge: My Neighborhood
    • One of the more recent posts, is one of my favorites because it demonstrates the shift my own process has taken over the past year when I got an Iphone. Before I got on Iphone, I had to actively bring a camera along with me in order to take photos, but now with the Iphone (I swear this is not an ad) I can take beautiful photos even when I am not planning on it.

Ongoing Projects

  • Alphabet Project — One of my ongoing projects is my compilation of a photographic alphabet. Although I haven’t posted much on it, I am still working on it, and I always knew this would be an ongoing project and would come together over the years. My favorite post is “ABC, its easy as 1, 2, 3.” The variety of the subjects shows how various objects, big or small, can still be interpreted as the same letters.
  • Photoshop — As someone who continues to dapple in digital photography, I have enjoyed experimenting with photoshop. My favorite photo I had posted to date with a photo edited in photoshop is “RIP Tree.” The touches I added are similar to when I was working with post-production work with physical prints when you added a tiny bit of color using oil or permanent markers.
  • Beer Bottle Project — Probably my most ongoing project is my beer bottle collection and the photographs that accompany. This project began an interest in the packaging of beer bottles. I do more planning for the collection than I actually do taking photos, but continue to collect beer bottles with the intention of expanding the project in the future. My favorite post, “Pumpkin Ale“, reflects what I hope to develop the project into. One of the series will include bottles that are similar types of beers, photographed together to make an interesting image of bottles. I think this post captures that idea particularly well, especially with the pumpkin in the background

Favorite Series of Posts

I was almost evenly split between my Wave Hill Series and Lake View Cemetery, but ultimately chose Lake View Cemetery. I continue to be drawn back these since I first visited the fall of 2006. And for those of you that follow my blog, see a draw for me towards cemeteries. For me it is not in a dark sense, but more from the art historian perspective that finds the grave markers beautiful and interesting and then the artist in me who loves taking photos of them and framing them in different compositions.

Favorite Spot Revisited

My favorite aspect of Claude Monet’s work is that he returned to the same spots again and again and painted how they would appear different times of the year, the day, as years passed, etc. This created beautiful series among his worked (as well as how differently he saw the same things as his eye sight deteriorated). It became a personal goal to return to some of the same spots with the same goal in mind. I did this most frequently with places in Cleveland. My favorite series created with this goal in mind is of the South Chagrin River reservation. The first selection of photos are from the winter of 2009 while the other two are from 2011, one selection focusing on photos taken over the summer while the other highlights the fall.

I hope you enjoyed my retrospective. Please flip through my blog and let me know what some of your favorite posts are! I look forward to 5 more years of posting!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2013 8:46 pm

    Love this retrospect! Seems you have been very busy! Fabulous work!

  2. Steph S. Mata permalink
    June 22, 2013 8:15 pm

    Hello dear,

    I have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award.” I know this might be extra work. http://galacia.wordpress.com

  3. August 14, 2013 1:11 am

    WHOA! Very cool idea. Ima have to steal it esp. WP also just notified me that I’ve been with them for five years. 2 with my old one and 3 with my current. I’d probably do like personal fave for each year. Do you mind?

    • August 24, 2013 10:44 am

      Go for it! I am happy to inspire fellow bloggers!

Leave a Reply

